Accuchex Blog

Be Clear On Reporting Time Pay In California

Posted by Leslie Ruhland on Feb 8, 2018 9:00:00 AM

Reporting time pay in California is intended to ensure that employees are paid for a mandated minimum number of hours if they are not allowed to work their full shift.

Employers in California, and their payroll and HR staff, are required to monitor these situations and ensure that any affected workers are paid correctly and accordingly. Employers are required by the Industrial Welfare Commission Orders to pay nonexempt employees for regularly scheduled, but un-worked time because of the lack of proper notification or inadequate scheduling by the employer.

Read More

Topics: california labor law, california minimum wage, employee lawsuits, california break laws, reporting time pay

California Minimum Wage: Exceptions Employers Should Know

Posted by Leslie Ruhland on Jan 18, 2018 8:00:39 PM

California minimum wage impacts every employer and dictates a large portion of their overhead. Knowing the exceptions is as critical as knowing the rule.

Read More

Topics: minimum wage law, minimum wage San Francisco, california labor law, labor law compliance, california minimum wage

Minimum Wage In California Will Increase On January 1, 2018

Posted by Leslie Ruhland on Dec 12, 2017 10:12:46 AM

When it comes to minimum wage, California ranks as one of the highest in the nation. And there are cities in California with an even higher minimum wage.

California minimum wage is currently at $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more workers. For those businesses employing 25 or less, the minimum wage in California is set at $10.00 for 2017.

Read More

Topics: minimum wage law, minimum wage San Francisco, california labor law, california minimum wage, employee classification

California Minimum Wage Increases Are Coming in 2018

Posted by Leslie Ruhland on Oct 26, 2017 3:17:24 PM

In addition to the statewide minimum wage level increase, there will be increases in a dozen municipalities in California beginning January 1, 2018. Are you prepared?

The minimum wage for the state of California is currently $10.50 per hour for businesses employing 26 or more workers. For those employers with 25 or less, the current wage is set at a minimum of $10.00 for 2017. This will change beginning January 1, 2018 when those hourly wage amounts increase to $11.00 and $10.50 consecutively. 

Read More

Topics: minimum wage law, ca labor laws, minimum wage San Francisco, california labor laws, california minimum wage, payroll compliance

Minimum Wage Increases Coming Near You On July 1, 2017

Posted by Leslie Ruhland on Jun 29, 2017 12:41:22 PM

Employers in select California locations should be prepared for the mandated minimum wage increases slated for July 1st, 2017.

The minimum wage in the city of Los Angeles will jump to $12 an hour next week, as part of a climb to a $15 minimum wage, officials said. It is the second year of a city increase that will eventually reach $15 an hour by July 1, 2021.

Read More

Topics: minimum wage law, minimum wage San Francisco, california labor law, california minimum wage, wage and hour compliance

Subscribe to the Accuchex Blog