Government contracts require understanding the requirements for businesses performing the work. For HR in California, prevailing wage is one of the concepts to master.
In addition to setting up and maintaining a certified payroll process, construction companies must pay their employees the appropriate local prevailing wage. This also means having a prevailing wage reporting process.
Certified Payroll Software,
Certified Payroll Services
The Department of Labor released a new proposed rule that raises the minimum salary requirements for FLSA overtime "white collar" exemptions and critics on both sides are voicing their concerns.
While the Department of Labor inches closer to making a final decision on proposed overtime eligibility, the state of California is still debating the definition of an independent contractor. Both pending decisions will have a significant impact on California employers, workers and the state's business climate.
Businesses exist to provide a product or service to their customers. And most businesses rely on employees to produce, manage, and deliver it. Which means that time and attendance is critical to an organization's functionality.
In addition, labor is also the single largest expense category for most small businesses. While it can vary drastically depending on the type of business, labor typically accounts for about 30 to 50 percent of the total cost of operations. Consequently, maintaining effective control of your payroll costs is a significant determining factor for a company's success.
time and attendance,
employee time clocks,
reporting time pay,
Until the federal government finalizes new rules regarding the salary floor for exempting employees from overtime pay, the current provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) still apply.
As of January 1, 2018 California's overtime minimum wage is one and a half times the current California minimum wage rates of $10.50 per hour for businesses employing 26 or more workers. For those employers with 25 or less, the current wage is set at a minimum of $10.50 per hour.
minimum wage law,
california labor laws,